R.A.B.

First off, let me say, it snowed last night and I didn’t sled… But I it was a rough day and I was a little preoccupied! Next time!

Now on to today’s topic.  This week laws banning cell phone use went into effect in Amarillo.  They have already been in effect in canyon, but it affects more people in Amarillo so there has been more talk about it.  I know plenty of people who talk, text, tweet, play games, etc…. while they drive and they are still alive!  But I know that when I have ever attempted a simple text, after two letters I look up and I’m NOT where I’m supposed to be.  So I don’t risk it.  When I was in high school, Alex Brown died.  She was a teenager from Seagraves.  You may have seen the Extreme Home Makeover episode about her family.  She was in one of my ITV classes and she wen to mascot camp with one of my very close friends.  I lived over 100 miles away from her and she was still a part of my life, so it’s hard for me to think what her close friends went through.  She was texting one day on her way to school, while speeding and not wearing a seatbelt.. and it took her life.  Living in rural Texas, when a teenager dies, it hits every school in the area, hard.  Her parents decided to use her accident to help others.  They went from school to school in the area and have gone to so many across the nation to educate teenagers on the dangers of texting and driving.  When they came to our school, I pledged to NOT Text and Drive.  I urge you to do the same.  One of my best friends was texting and driving while speeding on a back road with her headlights OFF, she ended up going into a ditch and rolling her car multiple times before hitting a tree.  God was holding her tight because she came out with a few bruises and that’s all.  I’m so thankful she is alive today.

But I want you to think about what could happen to OTHERS if you are texting and driving.  I’ve been on the road multiple times and a car has swerved into my lane. When I passed them, they had their phone in their hands.. What if I had been right next to them?  We BOTH could have died.  So I would like to ask you to think about what you could do to another person if you text and drive.

Like I said, some people are better at it than I am, and it’s your choice if you choose to text and drive or not.  But these laws are coming into place for a reason.  Too many people are dying because we don’t have the patience to wait to check our phones or to reply to a text.  I URGE you to think about this.

Remember Alex Brown.

0 Responses to “R.A.B.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

