Roll with the Punches

Sometimes things happen unexpectedly and everything all of your plans are thrown into the air. Sometimes you are not always able to get as much homework as you plan or are not able to finish. Sometimes these situations are out of your control like when the power goes out. Sometimes you are simply tempted into pushing homework aside and spend time with a friend that you haven’t seen in months.

No matter what happens in life you have to learn to “roll with the punches.” Over this past week I’ve had a few of the above happen to me which caused me to rethink and come up with a new plan so that school fit into my life. Last Thursday morning I woke up to a house of darkness caused by a large and loud thunderstorm. Of course, with no power I was unable to get on my computer work on an assignment that was due that Saturday. Then last Friday night I had a long time childhood friend come into town on a surprise only for a weekend which tempted me to push my homework aside for a while so that I could visit with them.

In the end I was able to finish all of my assignments, although much later and in a more rushed mood then I normally like, but looking back it’s hard to regret my choices this weekend. College is a time when I have really learned how to deal with different situations, like the one above. I’ve also learned that though my year’s at WT your choices don’t always have happy endings and sometimes a paper is turned in unfinished or a group project never makes. There will be ups and there will be downs in college, but so far WT has been a great place for me to learn how to grow up after high school and learn to simply “roll with the punches.”

0 Responses to “Roll with the Punches”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

