Trip to Dallas – Part One – Life

Every summer I travel to Dallas to visit my best friend who has been living there for the past four years. I’ve just returned from my trip this year after spending almost three weeks with her and her family. The main focus of this trip was celebrating the high school graduation of her younger brother. Naturally, many of her relatives from out of town came to visit and stay for the celebration. One of things that happens whenever you meet new people, or even when you are seeing family again after a couple of years, is that they will always ask you, “What are you doing with your life?”

This is always a daunting question, and you always want to make sure that your answer sounds good. Sometimes people know exactly what they are doing and where they are going with no hesitation. For example, I am on the path to graduate with a degree in graphic design and minor in CIS. I’ve been perusing this dream since my freshman year of college, and I can’t imagine changing that now. However, it’s not always easy to decide what you are going to do with your life. Many people start college undecided in their major, or end up changing their major a couple of times.

So now, I want to ask you guys that read this blog and are interested in or already going to WT:

“What are you doing with your life?”

It doesn’t matter if you have a plan set in stone or you’re still undecided in your future, let us know!

4 Responses to “Trip to Dallas – Part One – Life”


  1. 1 Omar July 17, 2012 at 3:29 am

    Good post Simone. For me, the “what are you doing with your life” questions kind of presumes that you even know what you are doing with your life. Even though you are the person who is most likely to know the answer, it can still be tough to get an exact answer. Many people in college will change majors or go back to school after they are done in something related or totally different. Even though I’m pretty set on my major, I still have so many ideas for what job to get, where to live, where to visit, and what to do after I graduate, but I think that’s okay for now. However, when you start becoming a second semester junior or senior and you’re changing majors and transferring to different schools, I think it’s time to start getting it together and come up with some idea, any idea of what you want to do. Even though your idea might not be the best (living in your current town, working at a jobs you’re overqualified for), you just have to go ahead and do what you need to do until you can really answer “what do I want to do with my life?”.

    • 2 simone393 August 16, 2012 at 2:29 am

      Thats a great point of view Omar, it really is a hard question to answer since there are so many different aspects that come into play.

  2. 3 Jasmine August 11, 2012 at 5:09 am

    a neonatal doctor that works and lives in colorado.

    • 4 simone393 August 16, 2012 at 2:30 am

      That sounds amazing! I love colorado (though I have never been) and the idea of a neonatal doctor sounds challenging but rewarding.


Leave a Reply

