Not Just a Small Town School

There are many people, and I was one of them, who view WT as just a small town college. I viewed it as a place to go if you live near by and don’t want to venture too far from home. It seemed to me as a “safe” choice, and that going to WT would be a piece of cake. I wasn’t interested in leaving home yet and the two colleges closest to me were Amarillo Community College and West Texas A&M University. Since I already had almost two semesters worth of duel credit when I graduated high school I decided to just go to WT so I wouldn’t have to worry about transferring later. I was happy with my choice at the time, but I made the choice without realizing just how involved WT is as a campus and a college.

There is much more to WT than meets the eye and I didn’t realize that until I became a student at WT. There are many different organizations or opportunities for students that extend beyond Canyon, Texas and go to the national level. Just recently WT’s Advertising Team placed 5th in a national competition. (http://wtamu.edu/news/university-s-ad-team-earns-fifth-place-at-national-competition.aspx) Until last semester I didn’t even realize we had an advertising team, or thought about WT really competing on a national level. Because WT is in a smaller town, and surrounded by large flat plains it is easy to think it’s just another small town college in the West, but the reality is far from the truth. It has the community feel to it, but WT is defiantly capable and does play with the big boys.

Each year I grow as a student at WT and even though I took my decision to attend WT lightly, I think it’s the best choice I’ve made concerning my college career.

2 Responses to “Not Just a Small Town School”


  1. 1 Jimena Cubillos July 26, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    Hi! I´m Jimena, from Colombia, and I would like to know more about WT, can we be friends on facebook?

    • 2 simone393 August 6, 2012 at 3:50 pm

      Hi Jimena! It’s nice to meet you, I’d love to help you know more about WT and answer any questions you have! I don’t use facebook that often, but if you would like talk you can email me at cat-lover33@live.com


Leave a Reply

