Physics… The worst thing I’ve ever heard of.

I have developed a new saying for when things are tough… If I’m at the caf, and I find out they are having spaghetti as one of the options every summer instead of two different options everyday.. I tend to say, “Well, that’s the worst thing I’ve ever heard of!”  But since I have taken Physics 1 and 2… My new saying goes like this… “That’s the worst thing I’ve ever heard of… well, actually no, Physics is the WORST thing I’ve ever heard of.”  Physics is just as bad as the world makes it out to be… I actually think it’s worse.  I had to take two semesters, and I barely go through.  See, I like science… Love it!  But Physics to me is Math.  And it’s not just math… it’s word problems… And it’s not just word problems… it’s word problems that you have to be able to read, decipher, and be able to tell what it’s talking about and what formula to use.  I just can’t wrap my head around all of it…

But WT saved me!  See, WT strongly recommends that students use tutors.   And I think that’s great!  They offer 3 different kinds of tutoring for Physics.  First is the normal tutoring that you are probably thinking of.  You go to tutoring services, and meet up with one of their tutors who is a genius at the subject.  Second, is the Math or Science Lab.  These people basically do the same thing as tutors, but they have set hours in a set room in the Classroom Center.  Third, my favorite, is SmarThinking!  This is online, 24-hours a day, and available at the tips of your fingers.

Sometimes you don’t have time to go to the Classroom Center, or you can’t go until the Math and Science labs are closed… Or maybe it’s pride stopping you.  You’re embarrassed to go see a tutor.  That’s fine.  SmarThinking is a great program for many subjects including Physics.  A tutor at SmarThinking headquarters is assigned to you.  You type in your question and they help you figure out how to answer it! They will ask you to work it out as much as you can usually and then work through it step by step, and help you if you have it wrong.

I also found www.cramster.com very helpful!  If you want to use it for free, it has all the odd number questions in certain books worked out completely.  If you are willing to pay, it has EVERY question for certain books worked out completely.  Now, you can use or abuse this website.  In high school, I abused it.  I took trig one year, and I used this website to copy the work and answers, but this won’t help you on tests or in the long run.  I failed my tests and became more and more confused as the class went on.  I learned my lesson.  I told myself I wouldn’t use the site again, but when Physics 2 came along, I was desperate.  I vowed to use and NOT abuse the website.  I did as much work on the problems as I could and used it like SmarThinking.  I looked at the problem and analyzed it.  I would only look at the next step, and then I would try to complete the problem on my own.  This worked.  I made it through Physics 2.

Now, some people find Physics fascinating… and I do find the principle of Physics AMAZING. But I just can’t wrap my mind around it.  If you are like me in this, I hope you find this post helpful!

0 Responses to “Physics… The worst thing I’ve ever heard of.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

