Small Town, USA

I love living in a small town, especially one so close to a larger town like Amarillo.  We don’t have as many drug and gang problems, but we are close enough to the mall and shopping centers.  However, I recently spent some time with my aunt who grew up in Pensacola, then moved to New York for a few years, then moved to Hawaii for a few years, then sailed the sea for a few years, and is now living in Sweden close to Copenhagen, Denmark.  She is used to living in a big city.  I thoroughly enjoyed listening to her stories about these far off places.  She really wanted me to move to New York for a few years, and although, that sounds like a wonderful idea, I don’t think it’s going to happen.  Now that I’m getting married, I’m realizing that after college, I’m probably going to find a good town and settle down. I’m perfectly happy with this decision, but for those of you who are a little more adventurous, maybe you should consider moving somewhere more urban after college.  WT is a great place for school for many reasons.  The student to teacher ratio is great, people are friendly, it has a good reputation, it’s small, etc.  These are things you are DEFINITELY not going to get in a larger town, but after you graduate, maybe you should try for an internship in Washingtion, D.C., or look for a job in L.A.  It’s a great way to see parts of the world you aren’t familiar with.  I know many people who have done this, and it seems like great fun!

0 Responses to “Small Town, USA”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

