Turkeys and Cities

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Hopefully this day finds you in good spirits and a belly full of turkey, or your favorite Thanksgiving food. I imagine the first half of my Thanksgiving day was spent the same way as most Thanksgivings. I spent the morning feasting on a Thanksgiving brunch surrounded by loved family members. After this great start to the day, it was time to get down to business: reading.

I curled up in my favorite reading chair, my stomach stuffed with food, my snuggie positioned perfectly, and begin reading A Modern Utopia by H. G. Wells while beside me sat a stack of other books by the famous author (The Time Machine, The Invisible Man, and The War of the Worlds). It wasn’t just on a whim I picked up these books for my reading over the break. I grabbed these collection to get a start on a final paper due in my class “A City in History”, an Honors Seminar class.

This is my first seminar class I’ve chosen to take in the Honors Program. I choose this specific class, “The City in History”, because I’ve always loved learning about history. This class has been my most challenging class since I started college, but also my most rewarding! This class has also been tied in closely to the Remnant Trust collection allowing some great, unique opportunities. Now, I find myself enjoying the works of H.G. Wells and deciphering just how his works revolve around the city.

0 Responses to “Turkeys and Cities”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

