Panhandle Weather Warning (Nov. 1, 2011)

Hello again! 🙂 Hope everyone’s week is off to a good start, and that your Halloween was fun filled.

So this particular installment is more aimed at those of you who are new at WT or are ready to come join us, because those of you who have been here for a while already know what I’m talking about.

…winter…is…coming!!!

Greatest time of the year up here is when the weather finally gets cold 🙂 Makes life easier because you aren’t drowning in sweat and there’s no heat to drain your energy. However, it can be rough when the weather turns nasty. I speak from experience 😛

Last January/February, we spent a week at -20 degrees which was literally (as in said on tv by the news) colder than the NORTH POLE!!! What’s worse was that the heaters in my dorm decided to give out, so it was just as cold indoors as it was outside. Not pleasant in the slightest, I promise you. So since we’ve had snow before Halloween even arrived this year, we’re basically guaranteed an epically cold winter. Therefore I thought I’d give out some advice on how to handle the oncoming winter weather.

  1. Have plenty of warm clothes in your closet. Sweaters, long jeans/pants, water proof shoes/boots, at least one warm coat, a scarf, a hat, gloves, and plenty of socks.
  2. Keep a few extra blankets in your room. Sleeping bags are usually a good idea, but having an electric blanket is best. Personally I have 2 sleeping bags in my closet and an electric blanket on my bed 🙂
  3. Keep a good stock of groceries in your room. By this I mean soups, microwave meals, hot drinks, food that will keep you warm. There will be days when we have frostbite advisories and you will not want to leave the dorm at all. It’s on these days that you will be happy that you have your own food, instead of having to run to and from the caf.
  4. Grab some extra laudry supplies. With all the clothes changes you will have to make because you’re soaked from the snow or rain, you will need it. And you won’t want to be driving out to Walmart or United for more. I’d advise that you do the same with shower stuff too, because you will be taking lots of hot showers hahaha 🙂

 I don’t mean to scare anyone. And no, I’m not overreacting. I’m telling you what we actually did so that we didn’t freeze out here 😛 We enjoyed the cold weather, really we did, but it does require a little bit of preparation.

Anyways, hope I helped or at least brightened somebody’s day 🙂 Questions, comments, topics you’d like to hear about??? Shoot me a comment!

0 Responses to “Panhandle Weather Warning (Nov. 1, 2011)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

