Middle Names

I have an obsession/fascination with… *drum roll please*… middle names. It’s the kind of obsession/fascination that a little girl has with the doll she’s always wanted.. but has never gotten.

That’s right. If you have made the connection, you’ve realized that I was born without a middle name. While it’s not like being born without a kidney or a leg, I still consider it to be a big deficit.

All throughout school, all my report cards have said.. “Miller, Abigail =”. Honestly, why would there be an equal sign there? That has got to be the dumbest thing. The lack of a middle name doesn’t deserve to be acknowledged… it deserves to be left out and ignored.

So, all of my childhood, I have “pretend” middle names, such as Paige and Nichole. Yeah… Paige and Nichole were obviously not big hits.

So, as I was making my high school graduation announcements, I was putting “Abigail Nichole Miller” on EVERYTHING….

– Graduation Announcements

-Yearbook Index… I was the only one who had their middle name listed and then again, it wasn’t even “legit”.

-My high school diploma…. That definitely didn’t work out. The secretary caught me.

-My WTAMU college application.

When I received the first half of my graduation announcements, I saw a Tiny Prints advertisement in the bottom of the box underneath all of the my cards. It was a soft pink baby announcement with the name “Abigail Grace” written in capital letters underneath a picture of a baby. Right then, I was this light bulb turn on in my head… (some might call this an epiphany).

My middle name was meant to be “Grace”.

I think it was fate that I received that specific Tiny Prints announcement and it was also fate that it was pink… my favorite color, minus black.

 

So, the day before my 18th birthday, I got the forms necessary for a birth certificate amendment and sent them in the mail.

I was obviously still a minor and so I was not considered an “adult” yet. Therefore to my dismay, the forms were sent back due to the wrong signature that I had done.. which should have been my moms.

One corrected lousy wrong signature and I sent the forms back in the mail.

Weeks and weeks later… like September later, my brand spankin new birth certificate came in the mail with my brand spankin new middle name in print:

“Abigail Grace Miller”

While I was waiting for my new birth certificate, I was driving around for 2ish months with an expired drivers license. I was finally able to go renew my drivers liscense with my brand spankin new middle name.

When I finally recieved my drivers license in the mail, I finally felt like a brand new woman.

Since then, I sign everything with “Abigail Grace Miller” or “Abigail Grace”.

My favorite thing to do is to introduce myself as Abigail Grace. :)

 


