Silly Boys, Tractors Are For Girls

Growing up, some people just know what they’re going to do with the rest of their lives… their dream job. However, for those of us who think we know but we end up changing our minds a bajillion times, it’s not that simple. When I was 6 years old, I just knew I was going to be a surgeon and drive a hot pink hummer with lime green flowers. As I got older, I figured I would try out being a teacher. Then, I changed my mind again and decided that I would be a nurse. However, as I got into my first year of college, I realized I was not nurse material. So, I finally settled on Agricultural Communications and Media. For those of you that have no idea what that even is, it’s basically a mass communications major with agriculture tied in there somewhere. With my AG COMM degree, I plan on writing books as well as be an agricultural journalist.

There are just those jobs or career fields, that are gender dominant… or so people think. For instance, people think that nursing is generally for women. WRONG. There are male nurses. Or that plumbing is generally for men. WRONG. There has got to be one female plumber… somewhere. Or that secretary/receptionist jobs are generally for men. WRONG. There male secretaries/receptionists. In my case, most people just assume that agricultural based jobs are for men. WRONG. There are females with agricultural based jobs.

Recently, in the last few years, I’ve developed a love for farming and for the world of agriculture. My heart quickens whenever I see green and yellow or a John Deere tractor. My heart melts whenever I see a tractor driving down the street in town. My fascination and love has me wanting to be a farmer when I grow up. However, it’s not as if you see many, if any, female farmers. Leave it to me to choose a dream job that is in a male dominant career field…

However, I want those who dare to be different and choose to have a dream job that goes against the status quo to stick with their dream. Just because there aren’t very many male nurses, female plumbers, male secretaries, or female farmers doesn’t mean that there aren’t any.

So, all I’m trying to say is…. GO WITH GUSTO! JUMP ON IT (your dream job)! :)



