A Summer Kind of Feeling

To me, today was the first day of spring break. As soon as class was out last Thursday, I hurriedly crammed my clothes into my suitcase, seams about to burst at any second, and headed home. From there, we rushed to Georgetown (which is near Austin) to watch my little sister play high school team tennis. She may not have been the best player out there but she sure was the cutest in my own, not biased opinion. ;) After she finished up on Saturday afternoon, we came home and had a nice night’s sleep in our own beds. Sunday was filled with church, prom dress alterations, bridal showers, church, Christian fellowship and most important of all: must needed sleep.

Today, Monday, was absolutely one of the best days that I’ve had in a while. No, I didn’t go shopping, eat yummy Main Street Pizza, or drive a tractor. It was amazing in the aspect that I didn’t brush my hair or put on makeup at all today. I feel like I did a lot of productive things: taking food to Plainview for a funeral, cleaned up the kitchen and the dining room, laid out and tanned, went on a slow jog with Samsom, watched home videos with my family and eating a tasty, delicious meal that consisted of Macaroni and Cheese. If I didn’t know any better, I would say that summer was already here.

However, part of me knows that there is a rather daunting landscape design project lurking around the corner and I’m faced with the reality that this summer kind of feeling is temporary and short-lived. So, I created a countdown for May 13, 2011, which is the last day of finals at WT. Then, I got to thinking, my countdown should be May 14 instead because that is the first, real, official day of summer. As of now, I’ve got 60 days left, 23 hours, 58 minutes left. WOW!

I’ve decided to just take one day at a time and enjoy the nice break away for school work. :)

 



