A long weekend in Canyon, America…

I noticed this weekend as I FaceBook creeped all of my peers from WT, most of us refer to Canyon, Texas as “Canyon, America”.  I was curious as to why people call it that and I think it may be because the fact that when you want to do anything…it feels like a totally different country when you go to Amarillo or Lubbock.  Canyon is awfully nice…if you want to have a calm, cool and collected weekend like I usually do.  I spent the weekend at work, doing laundry and watching TV and movies all day and night Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  With the exception of a short trip to Lubbock for a high school playoff game.  Sometimes, being from the panhandle, I wonder why people choose to attend WT even AFTER visiting but I am learning more and more as I mature that being in a calm agriculturally dominant town isn’t so bad.  I really like being around all these nice people, nice roads and nice…cows in Canyon, America.



