Reflections.

Another year has come and gone, and I’m 30 some odd credit hours closer to a completed degree plan. I left Canyon this week, leaving many of my friends behind for the summer, to come back to Dallas and do an internship. It was a miserable drive, but I got to reflect a lot on my semester. 

I really did learn a lot at WT in the past two semesters.
Dr. Bruce Braisington is accountable for most of what I learned in the classroom setting. His class was by far the most challenging, and most enjoyable I’ve ever had. I’d recommend him for anyone who wants to understand history, but probably not for the faint of heart. 

But I think most of the things I learned in the 2008 / 2009 school year were actually not from a classroom. 
So I’ve taken the liberty of putting together a small list of just a few of the things I’ve come to understand….

=Amarillo’s Vince’s Pizza Challenge is better in theory than actual execution. 
=It is possible to make someone laugh so hard that they throw up.
=Dance parties make dorm rooms smell like feet. 
=Dance parties are still worth it, just plug in an air freshener.
=Take as many road trips as you can. Destination isn’t as important as company. 
=Ribbon dancing is a perfectly exceptional way to spend a Thursday night.  
=If you ghost ride the whip, your car will be rockin some sweet dents on the roof. 
=Drive-in Theaters are a perfect excuse to munch on a turkey leg, and watch a movie in the bed of a truck.  
=Any video left on your facebook wall after 3 am will make you stupider.
= There is no shame in procrastinating bad enough to pull an all-nighter. 
= The closing music in the Library will only scare you if you let it. 
=Popsicles are best when actually frozen.
 =Study parties only work with people who actually study.
=You Shouldn’t eat seafood in a town 18 miles from the ocean.  
=In a community bathroom, whatever you do will be recognized by the community.
= If an idea sounds like it’ll end badly, it probably will….
=Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should…..

It was a good year. I walk away with many more stories and a little more knowledge than I began with. 
Cheers, WT, see you in the fall.

0 Responses to “Reflections.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

