Rainy Days

I have been thinking what to write this blog post on, but throughout the weeks every idea I have come up with has seemed lacking so to speak. I thought about addressing issues I have with the educational philosophy of the university, the spending and monetary allocations of the university, the 30+ pages I have to write before the semester is over, and so on and so forth. Since this is a WT student blog those seem like logical topics to write on but as I said they all seemed more or less lacking. Before I started writing this, I was sitting on my front porch awed by the beauty of the falling rain and the low moving clouds that were being accompanied by the magnificent rolling claps of thunder and flashes of lighting that illuminated the sky in almost a supernatural way. A perfect orchestra directed by the hand of God that completely eradicates anything ever composed by John Williams. While sitting there watching the rain feeling the cool breeze, I had an epiphany, one I often have but often forgot.

My plan is to graduate from WT this December, with a degree in general studies, and move on into a new chapter of my life. Basically a degree in general studies is a cursing and a blessing all wrapped up in a 125 class hour box. It is a curse because, generally, you have no specific concentration aka no overall marketable skill that you advanced during your college career. It is a blessing, and true blessing in my eyes, because a degree in general studies means you graduate and the world is your playground, you are completely free to do as you choose. Since I am graduating in December, I truly understand this, and to be completely honest it is an ecstasy of excitement and nervousness. I have no idea what I want to do after I graduate. I have looked at programs in London to do motion graphics and special effects for films, short term, two years or more, missions anywhere in the world, photography internships in New York or Seattle, graduate studies in everything from theology to the history of Christian thought to computer network architecture and security, and even opening up a small coffee shop in Seattle and living the dream. When I say the world is my playground I truly mean it. Although I have so many opportunities and ambitions there seems to be one thought that always seems to infiltrate my current search of what to do when I graduate. I am plague by the deep whisperings of “what is this all for?” Why choose one thing over another, what is the purpose of getting a degree at WT, what does it mean?

In the third chapter of the book of 1 Kings in The Bible, the story of King Solomon’s gift of wisdom is told:

At Gibeon the LORD appeared to Solomon in a dream by night, and God said, “Ask what I shall give you.” And Solomon said, “You have shown great and steadfast love to your servant David my father, because he walked before you in faithfulness, in righteousness, and in uprightness of heart toward you. And you have kept for him this great and steadfast love and have given him a son to sit on his throne this day. And now, O LORD my God, you have made your servant king in place of David my father, although I am but a little child. I do not know how to go out or come in. And your servant is in the midst of your people whom you have chosen, a great people, too many to be numbered or counted for multitude. Give your servant therefore an understanding mind to govern your people, that I may discern between good and evil, for who is able to govern this your great people?”

King Solomon later went on, due to the gift of wisdom, to be one the most prosperous leaders this world has ever known. The problem comes when one tries to define prosperity or success or even wealth. There was a time in the life of Solomon when he defined those as gaining land, money, women (he had over 1,000…literally), livestock and fame. During that time he turned from what he truly believed to be important and placed his basic foundational beliefs on a hold and chased after the offerings of this world. Later on in his life, the great philosopher realized his mistakes and wrote this:

“Besides being wise, the Preacher also taught the people knowledge, weighing and studying and arranging many proverbs with great care. The Preacher sought to find words of delight, and uprightly he wrote words of truth. The words of the wise are like goads, and like nails firmly fixed are the collected sayings; they are given by one Shepherd. My son, beware of anything beyond these. Of making many books there is no end, and much study is a weariness of the flesh. The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man. For God will bring every deed into judgment, with every secret thing, whether good or evil.”

Just as Solomon more or less chased after wisdom, so do I. I view the acquisition of wisdom and knowledge with great respect. It seems, in my search, of a new direction for my life, I have come to a similar conclusion as King Solomon. Every post graduate opportunity I have looked into seems thrilling and exciting because it offers a chance to learn new things and go new places. The problem is, those things are not eternally satisfying. Yes they offer knowledge, yes they offer a change, and yes they offer an influx of excitement, but they do not gratify the deepest longings of the soul, which is an intimate connection with Jesus Christ. It is ironic how much we prepare for and dwell on the future when King Solomon sums it up for us, “Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.” It seems, after taking King Solomon’s advice, it doesn’t necessarily matter what one does as long as he fears God and keeps His commandments. I am not saying it isn’t important to plan for the future, but there is so much to life than just getting a degree, finding a full time job with benefits, having a family, and making enough money to buy what you want.

I guess now would be the part where I start talking about what it means to fear God and keep His commandments, but I’m not going to. I believe is it very important for each person to search that out on their own so I will encourage you to seek out those truths and search after what is truly important, with all of your heart.

0 Responses to “Rainy Days”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

