“Can Food Drive” or “Beauty is Pain”

Tonight we as Conner Hall went and trick-or-treated for canned goods. I don’t even KNOW how many we got, but it was enough to fill one of those big Rubbermaid trashcans and still have some left over. And as of now, we still have a car that hasn’t come back.

It was nice going up to the doors, seeing that “Not another annoying, older kid trying to get free candy” as the people would reach for their candy bowl, only to have us tell them that we were there for a food drive.

I can’t wait to see how much we got.

On a more HUMOROUS NOTE, I went as a woman for Halloween this year. It was my mom’s idea, and I have to say that it was a learning experience. Here’s what I have learned, or come to appreciate in girls:

1. Bras come in more shapes, sizes, and fashions than one would think possible. It’s nice that they have them color-organized by cup-size, though. Also, I first thought that if I was a girl, I would have to be a hippie because one shouldn’t have to stretch around their back like that to clasp something in order to get dressed (the exception being those bras that hook in front). A friend of mine then told me that it was easier to put the bra on backwards, then turn the clasp around to the back. Bras also serve as great extra pockets.

2. Shaving your legs is far, FAR too much trouble. I think I would wear pants all the time. Granted, I had never shaved my legs before, but it took me more than an hour to get them shaved. Then, your skin’s dried out with it being cold, and you look all ashy. Plus there’s that area behind your knees. I’m surprised I didn’t bleed to death shaving back there. There were a couple girls, though, that said they were jealous of my legs. I’m still debating on how to take that.

3. Heels are Satan. I walked around in those for a good couple hours, and that’s enough for me. My feet were sore (granted the shoes were a little small), and people said I looked like I has something stuck up my butt as I walked. Oh, plus there’s the painting of the toenails (and fingernails) so that your feet look nice in the sandals. Though my painting job was awful.

4. Makeup is, again, too much work. Yeah, we overdid my makeup, but I still couldn’t imagine having to mess with that every morning. Even if it’s just base.

5. Dresses don’t have any pockets, meaning you have to use other things (a bra in my case) to carry things around like phones. Plus I always had trouble taking it off. Not to mention there’s the breeze. It can get a little chilly.

All-in-all, the little time that I spent as a woman was enough to teach me a HUGE amount of respect for the female gender. Whoever the next girl is lucky enough to date me will NEVER get any heck about either a.) taking too long, or b.) not “putting herself together.” If she doesn’t want to get made up, fine with me. If she does, I’m going to let her have all the time she needs. All of that stuff is just far too much work.

In the end, I’m going to stick with the simplicity of being a guy. It’s easier in the morning just to wake up and throw on some jeans and a shirt.

I’m out. I’ve got to get a shower to try getting all this makeup off me.

To all you ladies out there, I tip my hat to you.

Jere 🙂

0 Responses to ““Can Food Drive” or “Beauty is Pain””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

