Writing Curse

Most people probably think of a writing curse as meaning that you have to write tons of stuff for class.

Unfortunately for me, it’s the other way around.

See, I enjoy writing. When it’s my own stuff, anyways. And any time I feel like I’ve got an idea for something, I start writing. The problem with that, is that now that I consider myself a writer (not an author; authors are published) I have this urge to write. And when I start a writing project it follows me around everywhere.

In my sleep. In class. And, of course, in the shower.

I’m always thinking about writing. And now that I’ve seriously started working on my second book, Power of Deceit, I know that this is going to follow me around for a while.

It took two and a half years to write my first book, Power of Knowledge. I don’t think (or at least I hope) it won’t take that long for this one. I’ve already got my characters developed, I know the direction I’m taking the story, and I know how I want it to end. Those are the three main aspects you need to write, I think.

Even still, more than a year is a very reasonable amount of time to put into this. That means that I’m going to have something in the back of my mind picking at me in all my free time, telling me I should be working on it.

Those of you who seriously write, know that it can take a lot out of you. Some people might think it’s hard to believe that sitting in front of a computer typing, or lying in bed taking notes in a journal could be work, but it is.

You have to plan twists and turns, decide who lives and who dies, find ways to convey not only what the characters feel, but also what you as the Writer feel. It’s a tricky business.

Why do I do it? Because I love it. There was no feeling that I can think of that was better than that day when I finished my first book. Yeah, it was rough, and I had to do two or three more read-throughs to edit it up, but it was SO satisfying.

Now, when I look at my old manuscript and see all the green ink marks and writings that I’ve put in over my text, I smile. Two and a half years of my life can be seen in about 400 pages of writing. No one else can see it, but at different parts of the story, I can think back to where I was when I wrote it, how I was feeling, and what was going on in my life.

Yes, the dance my fingers do across the keyboard can be tiring at times, but I have to say that if I have to have a curse, I want it to be a writing one.

Jere 🙂

0 Responses to “Writing Curse”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

